National Collegiate Open Wrestling Championship


     Information  |  Registered Wrestlers  All-Americans  |  News |  Brackets  |  All-time Records  |  History 

2014 Top Contenders 

Presented by the Wrestling Coalition of the District of Columbia

Tweet to @NCOWrestling using #NCO6



For Immediate Release

Glen Allen, Virginia – The National Collegiate Open has released the Top Contenders presented by the Wrestling Coalition of the District of Columbia.

Six athletes from each weight class have been selected as Top Contenders by using the Dual Impact Index presented by the National Collegiate Open and past National Collegiate Open results.

Due to the event drawing many athletes from around the country that have spent the season competing in regional opens, seeding is a very subjective process.  As a result, the National Collegiate Open has chosen to never seed the event.  However, Top Contenders are separated in the brackets to ensure they do not meet until the quarter-finals.

The 2014 National Collegiate Open Top Contenders (in alphabetical order, by weight):

  Austin Miller Oklahoma State Unattached
  Buddy Scarborough Old Dominion Attached
  Joe DeAngelo NC State Unattached
  Vito Pasone Appalachian State Attached
  Will Mason Virginia Unattached
  Zach Fuentes Drexel Unattached
  Geoffrey Alexander Maryland Unattached
  Jalen Ramos Rutgers Unattached
  Kevin Norstrem Virginia Tech Unattached
  Luke Schroeder Purdue Unattached
  Scott DelVecchio Rutgers Unattached
  Tyler Keselring Central Michigan Attached
  Andrew Atkinson Virginia Unattached
  Anthony Ashnault Rutgers Unattached
  Colt Cotton Bloomsburg Unattached
  Daniel G. Sanchez Maryland Unattached
  Joe Moon North Carolina Attached
  Quinton Murphy Clarion Unattached
  Colin Heffernan Central Michigan Unattached
  Corey Stasenko Rutgers Unattached
  Jake Faust Duke Attached
  Neal Molloy Indiana Unattached
  Nick Maselli Princeton Attached
  TJ Miller Virginia Unattached
  Blake Roulo George Mason Unattached
  Chad Walsh Rider Unattached
  Chase Delande Edinboro Unattached
  Jordan Marshall Old Dominion Unattached
  Lou Mascola Maryland Unattached
  Ty Schoffstall Edinboro Unattached
  Andrew DeHart Duke Attached
  Brian Dorsey Duke Attached
  Connor Moynihan Central Michigan Unattached
  Garrett Hammond Penn State Unattached
  Hadley Julius Harrison George Mason Not Rostered
  Michael Simmons Rutgers Unattached
  Austin Coburn Old Dominion Attached
  Hunter Gamble Gardner-Webb Unattached
  Jordan Ellingwood Central Michigan Unattached
  Jordan Wohlfert Michigan State Unattached
  Nick Kee Appalachian State Unattached
  Zach Epperly Virginia Tech Unattached
  Austin Severn Central Michigan Attached
  Dylan Ryan Duke Attached
  Forrest Przybysz Appalachian State Unattached
  Mitch Sliga Northwestern Unattached
  Shayne Brady NC State Attached
  Trent Noon Northern Colorado Unattached
  Alen Turchinhodzic Pittsburgh Unattached
  David Reck Virginia Tech Unattached
  Jacob Hart Edinboro Unattached
  Jared Haught Virginia Tech Unattached
  Michael Mirra Bloomsburg Attached
  Stephen Suglio Kent State Unattached
  Dan Garwood Virginia Tech Unattached
  Jimmy Szep Central Michigan Unattached
  Lucas Ryan Old Dominion Attached
  Mauro Correnti Lock Haven Unattached
  Mike Kosoy NC State Unattached
  Sean Twigg Maryland Unattached

About the National Collegiate Open: 

The 2014 National Collegiate Open is hosted by the Virginia Wrestling Association.

Since 2009, the National Collegiate Open (NCO) has provided athletes around the country with the opportunity to finish the collegiate open season with a championship event.

In those six years there have been 72 NCAA Division-I wrestling programs represented at the championships.  In the past four years, NCO Athletes have claimed 219 of the NCAA Division-I National Qualifier slots and gone on to earn 34 NCAA Division-I All-American honors.

Top six finishers at the 2014 National Collegiate Open are recognized as National Collegiate Open All-Americans and will earn awards provided by Compound Clothing.  This year’s event will have video coverage provided by NSideWrestling.


About the Wrestling Coalition of the District of Columbia:

The Wrestling Coalition of the District of Columbia (WCDC) is a nonprofit organization incorporated in DC.  It is comprised of local wrestling coaches, businessmen and amateur wrestling supporters.

The WCDC is working with with local wrestling clubs, schools, other wrestling organizations and local partners to promote the growth of amateur wrestling in the District through social events, tournaments and other events that will help youth, high school and college coaches interact and compete.

 2014 National Collegiate Open Information

Deep Run High School
4801 Twin Hickory Road
Glen Allen, VA 23059



National Collegiate Open –

Wrestling Coalition of the District of Columbia -

Virginia Wrestling Association –