National Collegiate Open Wrestling Championship


     Information  |  Registered Wrestlers  All-Americans  |  News |  Brackets  |  All-time Records  |  History 


2024 Coach of the Year: B.J. Futrell (Northwestern)



For Release: Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Smyrna, Delaware -- B.J. Futrell has been named the 'Coach of the Year' for the 2024 National Collegiate Open.

As an assistant coach at Northwestern University in the competitive Big Ten Conference, Futrell has earned praise from his athletes for his indispensable role in their training and development over the course of the season.

Established 15 years ago, the National Collegiate Open is recognized as the National Championship of Open tournaments. The event has a longstanding tradition of bringing together top talent from across the country, providing elite collegiate redshirts and non-starters with a platform to compete under collegiate rules against formidable open competition in a championship setting. Throughout its tenure, the tournament has served as a showcase for countless future and former NCAA Qualifiers, NCAA All-Americans, and even Olympians, solidifying its status as the ultimate culmination of wrestling's Open Tournament Season.

The Wildcats program showcased its strength at the 2024 National Collegiate Open on Sunday, securing two individual titles and producing a total of three placewinners. With these achievements, Northwestern found itself just one title short of matching the record set by Rutgers in 2011 and equaled by Minnesota in 2012 for three champions in a single season.

In line with its commitment to providing open competitors with a prestigious National Championship platform, the National Collegiate Open established a tradition in 2017 of honoring coaches who have made a significant impact on the success of individuals at the tournament. The annual 'NCO Coach of the Year' award recognizes a coach whose dedication and guidance have played a vital role in the achievements of competitors at the championship event.

Futrell's commitment to excellence and unwavering support for the athletes exemplify the qualities of an outstanding coach. His recognition as the 2024 Coach of the Year serves as a testament to his exceptional leadership, serving as a role model and providing dedicated service to his athletes.

Previous Coach of the Year recipients include: Austin Marsden (Army West Point), Obe Blanc (NC State), Donnie Vinson (NC State), Steve Bleise (Old Dominion), and Derek Moore (California Baptist).


Twitter: NCOWrestling