National Collegiate Open Wrestling Championship


     Information  |  Registered Wrestlers  All-Americans  |  News |  Brackets  |  All-time Records  |  History 

2014 National Collegiate Open All-Americans 

Rutgers and Virginia Tech finish with two champions each; Central Michigan places seven     


For Immediate Release

Glen Allen, Virginia – The 2014 National Collegiate Open wraps up with Virginia Tech and Rutgers claiming two titles each.  The two champions for Rutgers gives the program five NCO champions all-time which is a new NCO record.  Penn State previously claimed the most NCO champions with four winners.

Virginia Tech's two champions matches their 2012 performance, keeping them in a multi-team tie for the second most champions in on year.  Rutger's two champions is their second best performance with three champions in 2011 (a record for most NCO Champions in one year, shared by Minnesota's 2012 performance).

Hadley Julius Harrison's second championship run moved him into the top spot for most NCO Championships All-Time--a position he shares with Cornell's Joe Stanzione.  The performance is also Harrison's fourth top-six finish, also an NCO record.

Central Michigan finished with the deepest program of the year with seven NCO All-Americans.  The current record for most NCO All-Americans is held by Kent State who placed eight athletes in 2009.

Three programs also earned their first ever NCO titles with Oklahoma State, Rider, and Northwestern claiming their first ever NCO championships.

2014 National Collegiate All-Americans (Note: Affiliation listed is not official record):


Champion Austin Miller (Oklahoma State)
Second Joe DeAngelo (NC State)
Third Josh Patrick (Rutgers)
Fourth Ibrahim Bunduka (George Mason)
Fifth Vito Pasone (Appalachian State)
Sixth Will Mason (Virginia)
Champion Scott DelVecchio (Rutgers)
Second Tyler Keselring (Central Michigan)
Third Kevin Norstrem (Virginia Tech)
Fourth Jed Mellon (Utah Valley)
Fifth Luke Schroeder (Purdue)
Sixth Jalen Ramos (Rutgers)
Champion Anthony Ashnault (Rutgers)
Second Andrew Atkinson (Virginia)
Third Jameson Oster (Northwestern)
Fourth Brady Dalton (Utah Valley)
Fifth Colt Cotton (Bloomsburg)
Sixth Joe Moon (North Carolina)
Champion TJ Miller (Virginia)
Second Colin Heffernan (Central Michigan)
Third BJ Clangon (Rider)
Fourth Quinton Murphy (Clarion)
Fifth Kevin Johnson (Old Dominion)
Sixth Jacob Kingett (Old Dominion)
Champion Chad Walsh (Rider)
Second Chad Pyke (NC State)
Third Austin Eads (Old Dominion)
Fourth Joshua Farrel (Purdue)
Fifth Austin Rose (Drexel)
Sixth Chase Delande (Edinboro)
Champion Hadley Julius Harrison (George Mason)
Second Nick Elmer (Drexel)
Third Brian Dorsey (Duke)
Fourth Greg Bacci (Virginia)
Fifth Mark Granahan (Bloomsburg)
Sixth Nick Elmer (Drexel)
Champion Zach Epperly (Virginia Tech)
Second Imonode Samson (Army)
Third Jordan Ellingwood (Central Michigan)
Fourth Hunter Gamble (Gardner-Webb)
Fifth Austin Coburn (Old Dominion)
Sixth CJ Brucki (Central Michigan)
Champion Mitch Sliga (Northwestern)
Second Jake Taylor (Finger Lakes WC)
Third Trent Noon (Northern Colorado)
Fourth Ethan Orr (Rutgers)
Fifth Austin Severn (Central Michigan)
Sixth Brandon Phillips (Penn State)
Champion David Reck (Virginia Tech)
Second Jared Haught (Virginia Tech)
Third Urayoan Garcia (VMI)
Fourth Jacob Hart (Edinboro)
Fifth Brandon Litten (Drexel)
Sixth Addison Knepshield (Virginia)
Champion Newton Smerchek (Central Michigan)
Second Dan Garwood (Virginia Tech)
Third Mike Kosoy (NC State)
Fourth Jimmy Szep (Central Michigan)
Fifth Jeff Miller (Gannon)
Sixth Andrew Geers (Purdue)


About the National Collegiate Open: 

The 2014 National Collegiate Open is hosted by the Virginia Wrestling Association.

Since 2009, the National Collegiate Open (NCO) has provided athletes around the country with the opportunity to finish the collegiate open season with a championship event.

In those six years there have been 72 NCAA Division-I wrestling programs represented at the championships.  In the past four years, NCO Athletes have claimed 219 of the NCAA Division-I National Qualifier slots and gone on to earn 34 NCAA Division-I All-American honors.

Top six finishers at the 2014 National Collegiate Open are recognized as National Collegiate Open All-Americans and will earned awards provided by Compound Clothing.

Bids to host the 2015 National Collegiate Open are being accepted.



National Collegiate Open –

Virginia Wrestling Association –